2023 Memorial Ceremony


The 2023 Annual California Firefighters Memorial Ceremony was Saturday, October 14, 2023, at the Sheraton Grand Hotel in Sacramento. You can watch a replay of the ceremony at the link above. 



The names of these fallen firefighters will be added to the Memorial Wall in Sacramento’s Historic Capitol Park to honor the memory of their heroism.

Matthew Brabo – CAL FIRE

Anthony Cano – Lakeside

Miguel Cervantes – Rancho Cucamonga

Matthew Clapsaddle – Ventura City

Paul Crimmins – City of San Rafael

Henry Doody – Oakland

Brian Falk – Kern County

Daniel Geary – CAL FIRE

Scott Gomes – CAL FIRE

Karl Hegle – San Bernardino County

Michael Horton – San Bernardino County

Earl Jones – Oakland

Heath Kelly – South San Francisco

Stephen Leong – Fresno City

Steven McCann – Los Angeles County

Peder McElroy – Branciforte

John McNelis – Barstow

Roberto Medina – National City 

Timothy James Mrozinski – Rocklin

Russell N. Nakamura – Los Angeles

Marcus Pacheco – USFS

Steven Padgett – Oakland

Howard Pheatte – Oakland

Nickolas Ramirez III – San Diego

Matthew Rominger – USMC

Kyle Rutherford – Sacramento Metropolitan

Mark Schmidt – Kern County

Jack Sheppard – San Ramon Valley

Timothy Strack – Riverside City

Michael Tooley – Orange County

Victor Vega – Richmond

Jeffrey Vitti – Sacramento Metropolitan

Stephen Wakefield – Crescent City

James Waldmeier – San Luis Obispo

Jerry G. Welton – Monrovia


Applications are now closed for the 2023 California Firefighters Memorial Wall. Applications for the 2024 Ceremony will be due in Spring 2024. In addition to a completed application, supporting documentation verifying the firefighter death was a line-of-duty death must be submitted. Please check back for more information.